Area Council

The MTSD Area Council 

Per the Bylaws, the purpose of MTSD AC is to:

  • provide a vehicle for promoting constructive partnerships among and between parents, teachers, staff, administrators and community organizations;
  • enrich, maintain and sustain the education of the children of the MTSD;
  • advocate for the continued improvement of MTSD through curricular, financial, physical and other needed improvements;
  • promote high standards of educational excellence in MTSD;
  • unify and strengthen member PTSO/PTOs;
  • provide for the conference and cooperation of the member PTSO/PTOs in order to create public opinion favorable to the interests of children; and
  • encourage programs and projects in the member PTSO/PTOs which carry out the mission and purposes of AC.

2015-16 Area Council Meeting Dates:
The MTSD Area Council (AC) provides opportunities for the exchange of ideas at 9:15am in the District Office Egelhoff Room on the following 2015-16 dates: 

• Sept. 2
• Oct. 7
• Nov. 4
• Dec. 2
• Jan. 6
• Feb. 3
• March 2
• April 6
• May 4
• June 1

MTSD Area Council Board 2015-16

President - Cheri Newton

Vice President -

Advisor - Sue Birmingham

Recording Secretary - Leona Knobloch-Nelson

Corresponding Secretary - Deb Apel

Treasurer - Sue Chavin

Community Relations Officer - Ashley McKeegan

If you are not part of Area Council and wish to attend a meeting, please contact Cheri Newton prior to the meeting date.

Membership includes a MTSD Advisor and representatives from each MTSD PTSO/PTO with contributors from the MTSD Board of Education, MTSD Administration Team, HHS Booster Club, Mequon Thiensville Education Foundation (MTEF), M-T Orchestra Parents, Positive Parent Involvement (PPI) and VOICES.

  • Mequon-Thiensville School District
  • 5000 West Mequon Road Mequon, WI 53092
  • Phone: 262-238-8500 Fax: 262-238-8520