Mequon-Thiensville School District

Board of Education

The MTSD Board of Education, from left: Jason Levash, Wendy Francour, Paula Taebel, Paul Buzzell, Andrew Hopkins, Kate Barikmo, and Shelley Burns.

The MTSD Board of Education is made up of seven citizens elected at large by voters in Mequon and Thiensville. Members are elected to three-year overlapping terms, with elections for at least two seats held every year. At the end of a three-year term, members may run for re-election to successive terms. Voting takes place during spring elections in April, and terms begin with the board business meeting thereafter. If a vacancy occurs in the middle of a term, the school board names an appointee to serve until the next district election.

At the annual organizational meeting in April or May, the board elects officers. The Superintendent is an ex-officio member of the Board who facilitates the work of the board and is responsible to the board for providing leadership to the district and carrying out board directives.

The board of education in the Mequon-Thiensville School District is one of a few in the State of Wisconsin who perform their public service on a voluntary basis.

Board of Education Meetings

The MTSD Board of Education is now conducting hybrid meetings. This format will allow those viewing the meeting remotely the same level of participation as those attending in-person. Allowing for equal access to the meeting by all participants, regardless of in-person or virtual attendance, is a priority for the Board and we look forward to ensuring all members of the public are able to participate in meetings in their preferred format.

Board of Education Workshop

Interested in learning more about what it takes to serve on the MTSD Board of Education? 

Join the current MTSD Board President and Vice President on Monday, November 27, 2023 at 6:00 p.m. in the Egelhoff Conference Room at 5000 W. Mequon Rd. for an informational workshop to learn more about serving the community as a member of the Board of Education. 

To help in our planning, please complete the information below to register for the workshop in advance. Questions may be directed to Cherrie Raimann at

Click here to register for the Board of Education Workshop

Upcoming Meetings