Mequon-Thiensville School District
Translate

Social and Emotional Learning

A student’s social and emotional health is of critical importance to their well-being. Social and emotional learning enhances students’ capacity to integrate skills, attitudes and behaviors to deal effectively and ethically with daily tasks and challenges.

A dedicated social emotional coach at each of our schools provides leadership and coaching to grow teachers' capacity in social-emotional welfare and support our school families.We believe that through attending to the social-emotional health of all students, students will grow in all facets of their lives.

Social Emotional Coaches:

  • Work directly with students, providing instruction and support to grow skills and competencies, and overcome barriers to learning.
  • Provide provide consistent support for school leadership teams, analyze behavioral data, and work to build teacher capacity by providing professional development.
  • Empower parents as the parent-school liaison, providing families with the skills and techniques to support the development of their child through workshops, coaching and resources.

Student Social-Emotional Competencies

CASEL, the Collaborative for Academic, Social and Emotional Learning, has identified five connected sets of competencies:

  • Self-Awareness: Recognizing emotions, assessing ones’ strengths and challenges
  • Self-Management: Controlling emotions and impulses, managing stress, self-motivation, setting and achieving goals
  • Social Awareness: Identifying others’ emotions, showing empathy, understanding other perspectives
  • Relationship Skills: Building healthy relationships, communication skills, conflict resolution, working, playing and learning with others
  • Responsible Decision-making: Making wise choices, evaluating potential consequences

Donges Bay

Lora Stupak
lstupak@mtsd.k12.wi.us
262-238-7966


Oriole Lane


Brenda Pepke
bpepke@mtsd.k12.wi.us
262-238-4249


Wilson


Stacey Knight
sknight@mtsd.k12.wi.us
262-238-4664


Lake Shore


Beula Sundararajan
bsundararajan@mtsd.k12.wi.us
262-238-7635


Steffen

Amber Ringstad
aringstad@mtsd.k12.wi.us
262-238-4738


Homestead

Terry Carr
tcarr@mtsd.k12.wi.us
262-238-5649